Mom Shaming

Mother and child

It’s a thing. Women shame other women for their parenting choices.

Homebirth vs. hospital birth.

Vaccination vs. no vax

Circumcision vs. intact

Breastfeeding vs. bottle

Cry it out vs. cuddle and rock

Homeschool vs. government school

Motherhood by Edward Henry

When I was a young, first-time mother I had a friend, Anna who had a baby 2 weeks before me.  It seemed to me that Anna made a point of mentioning to me that she was already back in her pre-pregnancy jeans by 6 weeks postpartum, how many ounces of Similac her baby glugged down, when her baby slept through the night. Her baby sat up sooner, crawled sooner, spoke sooner. When my baby stood up and ran by 9 months of age I was inordinately proud. Anna was unimpressed.  When I think back on that time it’s colored by my sense of not quite measuring up. I wish I could have enjoyed my baby more and listened (or cared) less about what was going on with Anna’s baby. I shudder to think how my self-esteem would have suffered if social media as it is now had existed then. People are now so much more judgmental and careless about the feelings of others.  Be kind to each other. We all are just doing our best.

Dear mom who didn’t have a home birth: Stop judging me
 

This entry was posted in Children, Health and Beauty, Midwifery, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment